new to reloading

tikkat3270wsm

i am new to reloading and looking for any help that could be offered. i have a Tikka T3 in 270wsm( hence the screen name), i had a load worked up for me by a custom gunsmith/ long range shooter. 140gr. nosler ballistics,61 gr. of reloader 19,fed 215 mag primer,win. cases. velocity-2750,average group .437.
my questions are, i am going to reload this when i start doing it myself,does anyone think there is room for improvement , should i even bother trying,has anyone had better luck with some other load in the same gun?
thanks for putting up with question, i will try and keep them shorter from now on
craig

Craig, you will likely run into some small variables when you begin. First of all save 1 or 2 of the loaded rounds that the other guy loaded for reference in terms of bullet seating depth. That is one major thing. The other is that you will be using a different lot number of powder in Reloder 19 unless you supplied him with your powder to begin with.

Also, his dies were set up to form your cases and you will have to set your dies up exactly the same. For example, his sizer die may have bumped your shoulder back .002, .001, .004. He will know and you should get this info from him.

Other than that and maybe a few more things, your loads should be very close to his.

Finally, I would recommend that you measure the outside neck diameter of a fired case. Measure the diameter of a case that you sized WITHOUT using the neck expander, then finally measure the neck after sizing WITH the expander. Some sizer dies are set up to really choke the neck during the downsizing and the expander opens it back up to about .001 less than a loaded round. If there is a big difference in the largest v. the smallest diameter, then it is my opinion that you are overworking your brass and causing work hardening to the neck.