New to me SS 10-42 MMQ

turbo38gn

Ok, just got my new scope, looks great, not sure how much I'm gonna like it. My initial thought after looking through the lense was not good. Before I go too far, I want to say I am a rookie with this stuff, I have purchased a couple other scopes recently, a Leupold and a Nikon. What I like the best about those 2 scopes is I can put my eye to the lense and pick up an excellent picture without have to move my eye all around to get a full picture. When I look through my new SS, I have a really difficult time finding the spot for the whole picture and keeping it in sight. I hope I explained this right... can anyone give me some input on what I am doing wrong or is that a characteristic of this scope?

Thank you, Jack

Anybody?... did I make a mistake buying this. I actually played with it tonite, dialed it in outside with a laser, it was terrible trying to get a clear picture... I broke out my Weaver Classic Extreme on my 458 Socom upper and it was great, I could put the scope to my eye and have an immediate clear and full picture.. My Weaver is the one I thought was a Leupold... I also tried my Nikon XV1 I think and it was a full clear picture immediately... what gives?

The simple answer is that your SS scope does not have the quality of glass that your other scopes have, and it is sensitive to eye relief. What you have experienced is very common in the lower quality glass.
on a side note...what year GN do you have?