Never neck sized before

Goobie270

I always full length size my brass, but now I'm wanting to try neck sizing because I have heard you can get better accuracy this way. All my dies are rcbs but I was thinking of getting a lee collet neck sizing die. Are these any good? My loads are not hot so how often does one think I will have to full length size again. Thanks

I am just starting out with neck sizing for my Tikka 308. I only shoot that brass through that rifle. Unless I'm mistaken, you are supposed to full length resize when extraction/bolt-lift becomes relatively more difficult. You also need to monitor your brass length to make sure you're not increasing pressure by hitting the end of the throat and unintentionally 'crimping'. I think the Lee collet neck size die is known for a very good result, so long as you set it up properly. It can leave impression marks if you go too hard. One advantage for neck sizing is for longer brass life as you're not repeatedly plastically deforming the brass back and forth.

Some people suggest using a custom die for 'bumping' the shoulder 0.001-0.002" but I haven't had the need for that (yet perhaps).

I saw this video recommended earlier and found it to be quite helpful (as well as the second one): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mhTUgytUGnM

I'm interested to see what others say as well.