Neck turning, before or after fireforming, before transitioning to bushing neck sizing for sure

cdherman

OK, plan is headed towards 280 AI. But I am leaning towards buying some nice RWS brass in .280 Remington and fireforming out to 280AI.

I am also getting a set of Redding Competition Bushing Neck sizing dies. I've never used bushing neck dies before, but my understanding is that uniform neck wall thickness is pretty important, since of course there is no expander ball in play anymore.

I found several posts that recommend turning virgin brass (its softest).

Do you think its safe to assume that the RWS 280 rem necks will be uniform enough on the interior dimension that I can just turn them (aiming to take only enough off to make them uniform), or will I need to run an expander ball through them all once, then turn.

And the expander ball. The Redding set doesn't have one. But I should be able to just dial out any 284 expander so that the neck/body are not sized at all, just the ball entering the case and exiting to smooth out any dings or nicks before turning.....

I *could* order a Redding FL die with conventional expander ball to go with the comp set. They are "on sale" at Midway. Only $40 or so. But why? If any old 284 expander will do (I have 7 mag and 7 SAUM with expanders)

If it matters, my neck turner is a Forester Classic.

Re: Neck turning, before or after fireforming, before transitioning to bushing neck sizing for

OK, plan is headed towards 280 AI. But I am leaning towards buying some nice RWS brass in .280 Remington and fireforming out to 280AI.

I am also getting a set of Redding Competition Bushing Neck sizing dies. I've never used bushing neck dies before, but my understanding is that uniform neck wall thickness is pretty important, since of course there is no expander ball in play anymore.

I found several posts that recommend turning virgin brass (its softest).