Need Help Deciding on Aiming Methodology

RockyMtnHigh

Hello all,

This is my first post, and, admittedly, I am a complete novice. I live in Western Colorado, and I am looking to get into to long range shooting. By way of background, I've been a wing shooter and deer hunter my entire life.

In researching the subject, I'm realizing I have a lot of questions that I can't get definitive answers to. My first question is if you are a complete novice that hopes to practice a lot and work hard, what type of aiming methodology would it be best to start on if you hope to master it? In other words, MOA or Mil-Dot?

I know it is a subjective question, but, before I invest in a rifle and optics, I thought it would be best to have a plan of attack on how to train to and this seems like something I should figure out before proceeding to acquire dedicated equipment.

If it helps, I have a strong math background, and I have read up on both methodologies to a limited degree, so neither is intimidating, although I know what I really need is a lot of practice.

Thanks for your help.

It is not going to matter which system. Both work the same. I use mil and am minority , on poll on this site.Use search system here to look up stuff you want to know. Snipers hide has a good article. Using the mil based scope.Read all the shooting form tech tips here. Best is shoot at a club and find a mentor, and watch and learn. Lots of places have clubs and there are LR classes offered off this site.

I prefer MOA for a couple reasons.

I'm accustomed to thinking in inches. There is no hesitation, no translation when making corrections. 1 MOA is easy to keep track of at varying yardages. example, 1moa = 6 inches at 600, 10 inches at 1000. A mil is 36" at 1000 yards. Divide 36 by varying yardages and keep track of it instinctively?