Need advice on a new Rangefinder

model70fan

Im looking for a really good range finder that will accurately measure out to 1000 yards. I was looking for some advice on what to get. I was also wondering what suggestions anyone would have on a good ballistics program. I am just getting into this long range shooting and need any advice I can get.

spend the money for a good rangefinder or you will regret it later...I would get a swaro or a leica for conistant 1k ranges.

The balistic program for a home computer or a Pocket PC?

If you don't need portability, get yourself a Barr&Stroud or Wild military rangefinder. They
were going about 400-500 dollar for one in good condition. They will range a lot farther than
anyone would shoot.

jack1k

I think there are some really good range finder binoculars availbe for $3k.

For under $1k, the Leica CRF and Swarovski seem to get the highest marks.

I went with the CRF 1200 after reading a review comparing the two side by side in the field and have been very pleased. It allegedly has a slightly tighter beam width than the Swaro which is an advantage in some cases.

I have not tried the CRF 1600 nor the Swaro.

The new G7 is probably worth a look if it fits your budget. But, I don't know if people are using them in the field yet.

Get the best you can afford. You won't regret it.

I have the leica 1600 and love it. I got it for 799, and I have ranged individual animals at 1350yds. As for the ballistics software, I am considering purchasing the bulletflight from Knights armament.

Nightforce NF Bal has been dead on accurate for me.

I like being able to export direct to Excell to customize and print my charts.