Neck Turning?

diderr

I've been reloading for about 7 years now, but never looked into neck turning. And im almost ashamed to admit I dont know what it really does. I clean, anneal, size, trim, dechamfer, but do not neck turn. It cant be THAT important if I've gone this long w/o issues right? Can someone please break it down to what it does?
Thanks.

I'll break it down a little. Factory cases have necks that aren't entirely uniform in thickness all the way around. Good quality brass such as Norma or Lapua is often within .001" from thickest to thinnest, but lesser brass can vary by several thousandths. And one brand is usually thicker or thinner than the next regardless of how uniform they are. Neck turning is the process of machining brass off the outside of the neck (neck reaming takes it off the inside) in order to create a uniform, specific neck thickness. Some custom chambers have very tight tolerances and need to have the brass slimmed down or the rounds won't even chamber. In most rifles with SAAMI min chambers, or factory guns with sloppy chambers, this isn't a concern. In these cases the advantage of neck turning is to create uniform neck tension from round to round and also concentric tension in each individual round.

There are about a hundred different things you can do to enhance your accuracy and neck turning is just one of them. It may help immensely in some rifles and it may do very little in others. Generally speaking though it makes your ammo more consistent and thus more accurate.

I agree with Matador.

I would like to suggest to the OP that if you turn necks for a factory chambering you may reduce neck life by causing overworking of the brass causing the necks to split.