Neck Tension

SergeantD

Ok first off I'm no newbie to reloading but I always love to know how others are doing things. Question: How do you know when your neck tension is correct or enough and how do you go about checking it?

Once I get enough answers, I'll let you know what the Ballistician's say.

Last edited:
Typically neck tension runs between 0.001-0.003. Most guys stay around 0.002-0.003 for best results with hunting and field rifles. You check it by sizing a piece of brass, measure the outside diameter of the neck after sized. Then seat a bullet in that sized case and measure the outside diameter of your case. If your sized case was 0.310 for example and it's 0.312 after seating a bullet, then you have 0.002 of neck tension. All of the standard dies I use size the brass to have 0.0015-0.002 neck tension. The only way to adjust neck tension is to buy bushing sizing dies. With those, seat a bullet, measure the neck O.D., subtract how much neck tension you want and order that bushing. So again, 0.312 loaded neck diameter and you want 0.003 of neck tension, then order a 0.309 bushing.

Jud96 did a great job explaining how shooters/reloaders use neck tension. It has been a while since I have had regular dies but everyone I measured was waaaay more than .002 or .003. I have since gone to bushing dies only. I run .002 and have never had a problem getting the ES/SD and accuracy I expect so I have never experimented.

I prefer to use expander mandrels. There are a couple places that have them in any diameter you want Can control the amount of neck tension plus the big gain I see is it leaves your neck true and straight unlike dragging over an expander ball Size the case with no expander in it Run the case over the mandrel and loadem