Neck Sizing

Footsie80

Hi All,

I'm brand new to both the forum and reloading. Bit of background before I pose my question. I have a Lee Challenger press and made an investment in the Hornady LNL OAL gauge, bullet comparator and headspace comparator kit as I would like to optimize my fireformed brass for a custom fit. I will only be loading for 30-06 until my rifle collection grows.

At this point, I don't want to spend a whole pile on the latest and greatest until my technique is solid and I shoot enough to warrant the investment. I'm planning on getting the Lee ultimate 4 die set so I have options for both FL and neck sizing.
Now for the question. I want to keep my brass in fireformed condition (ie. don't want to full length size). I also don't want to buy additional presses or specialty dies (yet) for specific steps in the process. Can I give my brass a quick clean, then neck size and deprime in the same step with the die set I'm looking at? If not, how should I go about this in a practical and cost-effective way? Conflicting info out there, so thought I'd ask specifically.

Thanks in advance!

Hi All,

I'm brand new to both the forum and reloading. Bit of background before I pose my question. I have a Lee Challenger press and made an investment in the Hornady LNL OAL gauge, bullet comparator and headspace comparator kit as I would like to optimize my fireformed brass for a custom fit. I will only be loading for 30-06 until my rifle collection grows.

At this point, I don't want to spend a whole pile on the latest and greatest until my technique is solid and I shoot enough to warrant the investment. I'm planning on getting the Lee ultimate 4 die set so I have options for both FL and neck sizing.