MEC Marksman Vs older RCBS Rockchucker honest review

Bigeclipse

All,
I just wanted to give my honest opinion on the new MEC Marksman compared to my old Rockchucker. Just some background. I started reloading about 8 years ago and by my numerous posts you will likely see I am far from a pro BUT I do have some experience and just wanted to give some feedback. I purchased my RCBS Rockchucker from an old timer 8 years ago. It has been my first and only single stage press to date. I had no idea what to look for in a press and what was important when I purchased. All I knew is he sold me a TON of stuff for 250$, all of which seemed mint condition even though it was likely made in the 70s or 80s and was everything I needed to reload so I wasn't complaining. Fast forward to today. I make a better living and have recently decided to get some new reloading stuff. First I started with a Dillon 750 for pistol bulk stuff. Then I said hey, I'm going to get new stuff for accuracy rifle ammo loading as well which included new scales and of course I wanted a new press lol. I did a bunch of research and just seemed the MEC has been rated one of the best as far as runout, smoothness, tight quality build...etc. I must say it does impress me. That being said I quickly realized my old Rockchucker was just as solid and produced about just the same runout (very little to none with my match dies). So was it worth it to get the MEC to replace my old RCBS....not really. That being said, if I were buying new today and didn't already have the rcbs I would get the MEC instead unless I wanted to prime on the press which the MEC doesn't do. I'm not sure of the quality of the current Rockchucker line but I wouldn't hesitate to buy one if they are like my old one either. The MEC and RCBS both feel about the same as far as force needed to size brass. Both feel equally smooth to me. The one thing I like about the MEC is also the same thing I dislike about it and that is the floating shell holder thin