Long Range thick skin bullets

If the guy who was shooting is used to Barnes but wanted a longer range bullet the Barnes 280 LRX would be something he'd be comfortable with yet give him a range boost and not put him or the bullet in a position he's not used to.

I am just getting the reports back from Alaska now. They got the moose took three shots. 338 lapua mag at 2900 fps. I was advised that the bullets split in half and lost penetration. No war is intended just giving a report from the field. This guy wants to shoot a water buffalo with this rifle and is unhappy with the bullets results. I have no experience with game of this size. Looking for a bullet that can keep some long range ability but perform on big animals.

Post #9 Kirby

Water Buff, and sounds like they want to use the 338 LM

Post #9 Kirby

Water Buff, and sounds like they want to use the 338 LM

Water buff, not sure I would recommend the Accubond. This is one of those cases that me personally would give up some long range ballistic performance for better close range terminal performance.

Penetration is key with these big critters so if the bullet does not get through the vitals, we have trouble on our hands. Personally, I would look hard at the 285 gr TSX or the 280 gr LRX for this use. The 275 gr Swift A-Frame would also be a great choice. Again, our main goal is penetration above all else, break down the critter at the same time you drive a bullet through the vitals so I would really have to go with a heavy barnes or a Swift A-Frame and again, live with the fact that your giving up some range for better penetration and close range terminal performance.

I am personally not a huge fan of long range dangerous game hunting. Now I am not one to demand that you need to get within 50 yards to place your shot. There is no reason that a well place shot can not be made out to 300-400 yards, but 1/2 mile shots on dangerous game can result in some serious problems.