I'm stumped....please give advice/opinions

trevor73402

Hello,
let me start off by saying that I am not an expert reloader, but I know the basics and I've done ok so far. I will try to explain the problem I'm having the best I can.
Equipment: Redding 3pc S-type bushing die set for 300WSM, Remington brass, 210 Berger VLD's and Fed 210 primers with 64.5 grns of H4350.

I've loaded 100 rounds of the above load with all new brass. I've shot those 100 rounds and I've started over reloading the "once fired" brass. This is where I ran into a problem. I ran the cases through the decapping/neck sizer die, cleaned my primer pockets, checked my lengths, ran the cases through the full length body resizing die, then chambered a empty brass to check for proper fit. Everything was fine. After all this I just happened to be tinkering and I put a mic on the mouth/neck of one of the once fired brass (after I had done all my resizing) and noticed that it was a little bigger than the measurments from my new brass. I picked up a bullet and noticed that it had no tension on it as I slid it back and forth through the neck/mouth ofthe case. The neck would not hold the bullet....it's too big after I resized?? It just slides in and out freely with no tension to hold the bullet in place.

What am I doing wrong? I think I have my dies set correctly according to my manuals and stuff. Is there a problem with my die? Is it not resizing the neck back down correctly? I'm stumped here. The bottom of my die and my shell holder just alsmost touch when the ram is at full stroke just like it's supposed to. Why is the mouth opening to big for the bullet??

Remember I'm basically a newby to reloading as far as my knowledge of problem solving like this, but I've been reloading since I was tall enough to stand in a chair and pull the handle on the ram down and I've never had the problem before.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,