I’m pretty new to this, and I have some questions

Your wasting your time calling this time of year, It's breeding season. Coyotes will ignore distress sounds, only have sex on their minds. In another month when the pups are born, pup in distress sounds work very well
Breeding season varies across the country, so it might not be the most productive for your circumstances, but others may have better success.
They will respond to howls and some other vocalizations during breeding season while generally ignoring prey distress sounds.
Never say never, particularly when it comes to coyotes! 😜

Ed

"I've had two instances where I am covered in coyotes, with two different groups within 30 yards of me yipping and howling and carrying on, but can't get anyone to come in."

If they're within 30 yards they have come in. It is a matter of making a set where you have a clear field of fire and no dips or brush where they can be out of sight and that close without showing themselves.

Where I park the rig varies with the terrain. If flat I might ditch it in a dip or depression 1/2 mile or more away. If there are ridges or hills I will park it on the back side and go over the top or around to get on the other side of the rise to make the set. I'm very conscious of sounds of the rig and in or around the rig. Seatbelt and car keys-in-the-ignition warning buzzers/bells drive me nuts! A slammed car door (think naive hunting partners) pretty much blows the stand for me. Tire sounds on a well graveled road on a calm day can be heard many hundreds of yards away. The challenge is avoiding getting spotted, heard, or smelled before getting to the stand.