How hard is it to learn to reload ?

Richard Owl Mirror

To start off, I have ZERO knowledge of firearms. I will be buying my first rifle this week-end but, I have noticed many people prefer to reload their ammo either from a cost analysis or simply wanting more than the standard, off the shelf ammo offers.
Could someone explain How much of an investment in equipment would be, How much of a learning curve it takes or, being brand new to firearms should I stick to off the shelf ammo for my Savage .270 ?

Also, if buying off the shelf ammo, is there one particular brand that would be best to buy?

all of my reloading stuff cost me around 1000$ I however bought the best stuff that I could. If you were to buy Lee stuff it could be done much cheaper.

Unless you only shoot the very most common bullets I would recommend you reload.

It is not hard to learn however you need to put the time into research so you fully understand what you are doing.

It's not hard. It's just very time consuming. It's kinda nerve-wracking at first, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes second-nature to you.

I also bought good stuff, and didn't buy a starter kit, as most of that stuff I wouldn't use.

I bought all RCBS stuff. I also bought a RCBS ChargeMaster 1500 setup instead of a beam scale. Saves lots of time and energy.

all of my reloading stuff cost me around 1000$ I however bought the best stuff that I could. If you were to buy Lee stuff it could be done much cheaper.

Unless you only shoot the very most common bullets I would recommend you reload.

It is not hard to learn however you need to put the time into research so you fully understand what you are doing.
Thanks Stan !

It's not hard. It's just very time consuming. It's kinda nerve-wracking at first, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes second-nature to you.

I also bought good stuff, and didn't buy a starter kit, as most of that stuff I wouldn't use.