Holding zero

nwolf

Is it possible for a scope to be knocked out of zero by the shot and return on its own after sitting for a few minutes?

Is it possible for a scope to be knocked out of zero by the shot and return on its own after sitting for a few minutes?
I had a loose base once and the groups fired looked like 2 separate good groups about 2" apart. I finally traced it down by dry firing and watching the cross hairs randomly shift back and forth. I grabbed the scope and could feel it move just a little. It drove me nuts for a while!

i am not a scope expert by no means but i am going to say no way. could this happen. i could see it move due to recoil but coming back to zero?
Now the cross hairs might flex maybe but you would never know it or see it at least that is my opinion. why would you ask this question? and what kind of scope are you using? not sure what your problem is that would let you think something like this is happening.

First off, nothing is loose, checked and rechecked. The problem is that cold bore shot is dead on. Second shot, if fired within 30 seconds of the first will be 2" low, third shot lower still. If I wait a couple minutes between shots it will shoot 3/8 groups.

Now before anybody says anything about the barrel getting hot, does your .223 get hot after one shot?

I know that the springs in the scope can cause problems, which is why when you make an adjustment on some scopes it takes a couple shots for it to settle. Or you tap the side of the scooe after adjustment. I just wonder if they can settle on there own after a few minutes.

Well a 223 is not a big recoil gun and you are right i have not had any gun heat up that bad after just one shot. has this pattern happened more then once? are you shooting from a bench with bags? is this a bolt gun or an ar platform?