HELP! Brain Melting...

djcompto

Okay everyone, I need some serious explanation! I am baking my poor brain trying to figure the math on my target turrets. I have never used a scope with turrets before and I am just lost. I have looked at ballistics tables, and if I am reading things correctly, I can expect over 230 inches of drop from my 7mm RemMag at 1000 yards. Is this right!?? If so, my turrets are 1/8 MOA incremental. I don't have enough darn clicks to dial for 230 inches of drop! Am I just totally confused? Someone help before I go nuts! Thanks! Dan

Hi Dan,
Yes this would be a problem.
But what you are forgetting is that 1MOA = aprox 1" at 100 yds. but 1 MOA at 1000 yds = aprox. 10" so from 100 yd zero,if you have 230" of drop you would need to adjust 23 MOA on your scope which is 184- 1/8 minute clicks, your turrits should also have a 1 MOA scribe on them to speed things up.You should not have to count 184 clicks. Most of your scopes out there are going to have at least 23 minutes of up adjustments from center but if you are running out of adjustments you will need a canted base or Burris rings with offset inserts.
I hope this makes sence if not let me know and I will try to explain differently.
308nate

Calm down. Everything's going to be OK. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif (nate you just beat me with your response. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/shocked.gif)

Remember that Minutes of angle (MOA) are an angular measurement. It grows with distance. 230 inches of drop at 1000 yards is (somewhat) only 23 inches of drop at 100 yards and I know your scope can handle this. It equates to around 23 MOA which for your scope is 184 individual clicks.