Headspacing question

rickdavis81

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
199
Location
SW Missouri
I'm getting ready to rebarrel 2 more Savage actions. One to 300 blackout and another to 7mm RM. I've always used go/no go gauges in the past. But after reading some more it looks like if I used a resized casing ran thru my dies to set the headspace there might be some benefits such as longer brass life or more accuracy. Any truth to it? Or should I stick with go gauges? And if I'm right I just FL resize the brass and treat it as the go gauge? Rifles will always be used with handloads. Thanks
 

FearNoWind

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
2,323
Location
North Central Valley California
I might try sending half a dozen fired cases to the reamer manufacturer and having them use that a grind the reamer but I wouldn't try what you're describing and, even though there are probably a few around, I don't know a gun smith that would let something like that out of his shop.
 

Hired Gun

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2003
Messages
1,561
Location
North Bend, Oregon
When building for yourself you can set it up any way you want.

There is no harm in what you are proposing but it would be the exact same thing. You're setting off the gauge but just not using it. If you want it tight set your headspace off new unfired brass but be aware you might have to shorten your full length sizer to be able to bump the shoulder that short. Also another lot o brass may not fit at all. Factory brass dimensions vary drastically.

By neck sizing or only minimally bumping the shoulder minimizes working of the brass and that always extends the life of it. This can be done on any chamber even grossly long head spaced rifles.
 

jsthntn247

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
783
Get a piece of new brass that you intend to use and put two pieces of scotch tape on the back of it and headspace it as normal. You will then have new brass plus .004 for your headspace measurement. Do several pieces of brass this way so you can average it out.
 

Dgd6mm

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2008
Messages
1,246
I know there is more then one way to skin a cat. I have made go and no-one go gauges out of brass. It can be done safely every time. Do your research, it is out there, follow directions closely and enjoy swapping barrels yourself.
 

7magcreedmoor

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 23, 2012
Messages
733
Location
Lebanon County PA
Go gauges are not that expensive. You can use brass as you have described, but you have the possibility of slightly compressing that brass case without even realizing you are doing it as you screw the barrel and action together. I would (I have) bought the proper gauges, and won't do the job without them.
 

rickdavis81

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
199
Location
SW Missouri
I've always used go gauges before and it's not about the $30. I thought maybe there was some accuracy or brass life to be had. 300 blackout go gauges are a little tough to come by though.
 
Top