good grief !

Bob S.

I've been reloading for about 25 years. If ignorance is bliss I've been in heaven. I always done what I was taught by my dad so long ago. Full length resize follwed by trimming , champfering, primer pocket cleaning. Weigh each powder dump and funnel into a primed case. Run the works into the seating die and slowly adjust for desired length. Check a couple more lengths then don't worry about it.

After hanging around here for a while I decided to check a few more things to see how consistent every thing was.

Case length after trimming was within .002" longest to shortest, I was satisfied with this. Can it get better?

COL after seating the 50 grain Hornady V-Max varied by as much as .005" in both directions. I was very surprised at this result. The majority were within .002 but had some out there. Is this to much deviation? What could cause this? I checked a bunch of the bullets for length and they varied by as much as .008" This just seems like a lot to me. I have never bothered to check this before and am slightly bewildered and now wonder if I'm doing something wrong. Bullet length sould not in itself cause the OAL problem with the standard RCBS seating die should it? I was thinking that bullet circumference wher it sits into the seating cup would be more of a culprit but maybe its the length of the polymer tip or something.
I did not weigh each bullet on the scale to see how much that varied. I'll save that for next time after sorting this out.

Sorry for the long post but was really bothered by the results. I guess had I measured lenth after each seating I could have chased it all night but I waited till done and measured them all.