Glue ? Or epoxy ?

Gregg C

Being a consummate DIY kinda guy (which I think really means broke tightwad w/more time than sense), I'm considering making a stock for my heavy recoil 338. I had it in a popular laminate, but was never really happy with the way it fit me. I started making modifications to it, and got it to feeling better, but I broke it in the last modification session. Soo,,,,,,I'm gonna make one from scratch. Thinking laminate, but what glue ? Or maybe epoxy ? You folks that have done this might think, That guy is NUTS ! and you might be right, but I got a thing about trying new stuff on my own. At the end of the project, I love knowing I gave it all I had.
Thanks in advance, for any advice, comments, nuggets of wisdom, or concerns, even.

C, can't comment on which glue, but the inletting is the tedious, frustrating, and definitely the most difficult. I've been working periodically on a shotgun stock for a couple years. Hoping it will turn out looking similar to a Holland and Holland.

Hoping to do most of the in letting with a router on a bridge. Got an idea on how to use it like I imagine a pattern follower would work. Like everything I undertake, I'm thinking What's the worst that could happen ? I gotta work harder ? Or spend more money ? I guess we'll see, eh?

I build furniture shoot and lots of other stuff.... Titebond II glue works great We have 30+ year old furniture glued up with it, no problems

Last edited:
Built kitchen cabinets with that stuff, bad arse, but not sure about resistance to solvents. JB Weld makes a thin 2 part 5 min set , 4600psi . Might be good. Devon 10110 is kinda thick, but I know it's tough as nails.

C, can't comment on which glue, but the inletting is the tedious, frustrating, and definitely the most difficult. I've been working periodically on a shotgun stock for a couple years. Hoping it will turn out looking similar to a Holland and Holland.