First DIY Carbon Fiber Stock

Well done guys, I have been building super light weight stocks since 1970 and must admit it was very difficult to start. I have made them from 9ozs to 3lb and recently tested a 1lb 2 oz stock by running over it with the back wheels of a Ford SW. The stock could be used again without a problem. I like designs with sharp corners and hate those that look like a big blob of putty. The USA stock builders love Twill weaves but I get much better strength from using unidirectional unwoven. It's more difficult to work with and doesn't have that "I must have an orgasm when I look at the carbon". However I'm looking for stiffness and rock solid non changing point of impact. The resin to reinforce ratio is very important, excess resin just adds weight and does nothing but make it brittle, try for 50 - 50, Good luck I'm retired

Decided to go stand in the cold wind and snow and watch deer instead of work on it today. Did a bit on sanding, but I will try to fix the bad areas tomorrow with some light body filler. Then finish the inletting, bed the rifle, then give it a good paint job. Might be a few days for all that.

I exaggerate time and money, but it has been a great learning experience. After another couple eh1 types, I want to figure out the eh5. That is by far my favorite. A couple chassis builds would be nice too .... and it never ends :)
When making your next mold you can do the first 2 layers in cloth the do the rest in heavy mat then a later of woven roving and it will make its stiffer than hell and way faster than many layers of cloth.

When making your next mold you can do the first 2 layers in cloth the do the rest in heavy mat then a later of woven roving and it will make its stiffer than hell and way faster than many layers of cloth.