ELR spotting scope or target camera system

• Thread starter Deleted member 46119
  • Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Deleted member 46119

We are finally getting our long range line setup. Something I have been working on for several years at the San Louis Sportsman's Association facility outside Morro Bay California. We have a couple bits of steel at 1,000 and others at intermediate ranges. More steel at longer ranges to come with time and $$ (more like $$$$). Then we will start having "contest" weekends open to those who would like to visit California's beautiful Central Coast and Wine country.

Here is the dilemma. We have a pretty constant coastal wind and thermals to create mirage. This means that even hits from large calibers are very difficult to spot with what I have been using. So far no one has brought a scope that can resolve well enough in those conditions.

Shooting/hitting at 1,000 and beyond is not a "new" thing for me. Spotting hits after impact for the purposes of making adjustment is. My previous system was good to 700 yards. My Sightron SIII and Nightforce NXS scopes could resolve impacts to let me fine tune. After 700 yards things seem to change.

I would love suggestions on what direction to proceed. Higher end spotting scope? Remote video target system? Drone? Other?

Conventional high end spotting scope is a known technology, however, I do not know how well they can resolve impacts on steel targets at 1,400 yards and beyond.

I know very little about remote video target systems. I know lots about how they work/technology but not the practicalities. Solar power, weatherproofing, remote camera exposed for extended periods. What are the practicalities and problems.