Different brass = different results?

jpfrog

Hello, and thanks for reading!

I'm new to LR, and I'm finally ready to start taking some training. My custom rig is a 300winmag that I've developed a custom load to match, but I don't want to take that to my LR Training classes because it's a beast and not as economical to shoot as a .308 that I just finished for the purpose of being a training rifle to learn the craft.

That said, NOTHING is economical right now- everything is either sold out or crazy end of the world priced. I have plenty of bullets and primers for my training course needs, and I should have enough powder if I stick to the load I've been using so far on my current supply of 100 complete rounds. I need several hundred rounds for the training classes, though, and I do not have enough brass. My question (FINALLY!) is this- will switching manufacturers for brass impact my recipe and performance? Ideally I'd keep everything consistent so I can learn at the training courses and not have to worry about variation between rounds, but it's impossible to find the Winchester Reloading brass in .308 to match my current supply. I could pick up some Lapua, but for the number of cases I need that will be VERY expensive.

Thoughts? Thanks again for reading!

in short, yes. Variables are weight, more weight = less powder space available in the cartridge = higher pressure. Neck tension may be different more neck tension = higher pressure different impact.
Although small it makes a difference when you push the distance further out.

One reason guys try to get their velocity of each round down to single digits, maybe someone else can give exacts for the spread here.