Developing load for new semi-custom

Bigeclipse

Guys I have built a semi-custom savage with criterion light varmint 7mm rem mag barrel. I want to attempt to work a load up for it. I have been reloading for 3 years...but only for pistols to save money, not for accuracy. This year I took up loading for rifles for accuracy. I have only loaded for two rifles so far. The first rifle was with little to no guidance except my reloading manuals. So I chose seating depths based off of the manuals, worked up to higher pressure then backed off, and then just tried random powder charges in the safe powder range for my rifle until I got my desired result, which took forever and I knew I must be doing something wrong so I took to the web! I read everything and anything I could. WOW there is a lot of stuff! It is quite OVERWHELMING! Anyways, on my last rifle I did an OCW test which worked out ok. I avoided ladder test because I heard it can give you bad results if you are not a mid level-skilled marksman which I think I am slowly progressing to mid-level but not quite there yet. My goal for this 7mm rem mag is to get me out to 4-500 yards hunting and 700 yards for plinking fun so I would think I would need around a 1/2 MOA rifle.

My first question is what do you all suggest for your testing seating depths?(not sure if you use a different seating method depending on whether you use OCW or ladder test). I know the berger method for their bullets but not sure if that is what you do for all bullets. I will be using 160 grain accubonds for my first test. I am a little hessitant loading to the lands because of the so called pressure spike and also I have not measured my current rifle chamber so I am not sure if it will be even possible to seat that long (I just ordered the bullets). I am on a slight budget, so want to try and avoid shooting 75+ rounds but if that's what I have to do then that's fine. thanks for your help!