custom pistol

screech

I was just pondering the idea of getting an custom action from lawton or bat for a pistol. Can the legally do it? I was hoping one of the guys on here with a ffl license would know.

You know that would be cool , The Lawson is like a Remington. So would it fit into a Mc Millian stock. 15" to 18" barrel , would save on Truing and Squaring the action.

[ QUOTE ]
As long as the action has never been assembled as a rifle, then, yes, it's legal.

[/ QUOTE ]

I am no expert but I believe that is incorrect.
I think it is what the serial no. was originally recorded as.
You would very likely never get checked, but if you did I don't think it would be good.
If your serious about doing it I would just give Barney a call (406) 683-2388 to be safe.

Are you refering to Bat Machine Actions? give me an idea as to why they would be illegal in the first place and I can tell you if ATF would allow them. From looking at the action it isnt anything different, just custom made, correct? So as far as you buying the action and having it assembled by a licensed maker, there shouldnt be a problem. If it is assembled by a non ATF manufacturer, then there would be a problem. I think this is correct, I havent studied my FFL manual in a while, so someone correct me if Im wrong.
Stacy

The action must be registered by the manufacturer as a rifle or a pistol. I read a thread somewhere about Kelby making thier cub actions and they use a completely different SN range just to be sure. Just call one of the action makers and they can clear this up. I am not 100% but a email or call to kelby or BAT should clear it up.

Screech

The answer is NO.

The ATF requires that if the barrel is less than 16"
you must use a action that was used or intened to be used
as a pistol only and so identified (XP 100,ect)

But you can make one with a rifle action with a 16" or 18" long barrel depending on the state you live in and call it a carbine.