Copper Fouling and POI/Accuracy

stanley52

Ok so I am still relatively new to LRH, and obviously have much to learn. I have recently had a semi-custom rifle built, chambered in .260 with a Benchmark barrel, if it matters. I was wondering:

1) Does copper fouling change your point of impact/zero? like if there is some fouling and i use some Bore Tech CU2 and scrub it all off, is it going to change my zero?

2) Does copper fouling increase accuracy/consistency, does it hinder it, or does it help it and then eventually hurt it if there begins to be too much?

3) I know all this can vary from barrel to barrel, and i was wondering if anyone has had any experience with Benchmark's barrels (Carbon Steel Barrels)?

Thank you ahead of time for your input.

[ame=http://youtu.be/_KRUAv3Byp4]SNIPER 101 Part 40 - Coppering and Powder Fouling - Rex Reviews - YouTube[/ame]

[ame=http://youtu.be/GcmuSXqmKjs]SNIPER 101 Part 45 - Copper Removal Issues in Long Range Precision Rifles - YouTube[/ame]

A change to fouling, more/less/type, affects zero(initial POI).
Copper buildup in the bore is bad for accuracy(unless your accuracy is based on it).
Oil left in a bore has to be burned out before stable fouling sets.

2 approaches to dealing with this:
Clean a bore as infrequently as possible.
Clean a bore after every use, and prefoul just before another use.

I was taught to put a gun away cleaner than it was pulled.
With this, my guns are maintained in better than brand new condition.
I hand prefoul clean dry bores before putting them away.

Good stuff to know, but please excuse my ignorance... What is "hand pre-fouling"? After I clean my bore I always shoot 2-3 shots to carbon foul it, is this the same thing or something else?

I missed the context of your original question. That you intended only to go after copper while leaving carbon in the bore & would this affect zero.
This I don't know.