Chronograph Frustration and Questions

MSLRHunter

I was doing load development on a new rifle today and set up my Shooting Chrony master chronograph and I almost shot it, on purpose! This has to be the most worthless chrono ever. From sun to partial cloud it commonly shows 100 fps differences in the same load. Then when I wait for full sun, every other shot is an error. I have it set up a full 15 feet from the muzzle so I know that is not the issue with the errors. What is everyone's opinion on the CED? is that the best option other than springing for the Oehler? Has anyone used the magnetic chrono discussed on snipers hide? I'm just very frustrated and ready to cut my losses and step up to a better chrono if there is one.

I have a Master and use it for everything from pellet to large magnums, rifle and pistol, without issue... Batteries ok? How about your tripod, not moving in the wind?

Other than that?

Been where you are at with your chrony. Go ahead and keep investigating an upgrade but give chrony a call - then send it in and have it re-calibrate. If nothing else you can use it to check/compare with your new purchase. I send my chrony in at least every 2 years.

It is good enough to get me in the ball park and after that I use actual field data/testing to develop my drop chart. Most cheap chrony's are just that.

Cowboy, do they normally charge to re-calibrate? Does it normally make that big of a difference? Does yours show the huge swings in readings with varying light conditions? I havent heard of other chronos with such a huge difference.

I have a Master and use it for everything from pellet to large magnums, rifle and pistol, without issue... Batteries ok? How about your tripod, not moving in the wind?

Other than that?

Yes, new battery and rock solid tripod. There wasn't much wind either. I've gotten the same results both with and without the diffusers.