chrono speed, vs temperature

D Scott

Hi Im new to reloading, and would appreciate some feedback about some of my chrono'd speeds Im getting with my reloads.

I''m shooting a Savage LRP 260- remmington, I have been shooting Nosler 140 custom comp HPBT, with 45 g of H4831 sc, cci br2 primers, remm brass, doing load development shooting at 100 yards I have been keeping groups at or under a half inch, at 300 yards groups around 2.5 inches. my extreme spread has been about 14-15 fps, with the past 60 rounds., average MV at 2776 fps

Today I shot 3 groups of 15 (45) rounds with new remm brass with the same load as above with very different velocity results, the temp was about 10 degrees cooler, and the pressure approx the same from the last session

fist group 2865 mv, with ES of 41
2nd group 2801 mv ES 57
3rd group 2766 mv ES39
I have been meticulous with brass prep and weighting each load precisely on a beam scale assuming its not a faulty chrono (chrony master-beta) great name, it was very windy today though

can muzzle velocity shift as the ambient temperature of the cartridge shifts to a higher or lower temp? would that change the ES ? would you expect a shift of over 100 fps from a change of 20 degrees or less?

any input would be greatly appreciated .

thanks in advance Scott

Unfortunately, internal ballistics is not an exact science, and yes changes in temperature can and do affect velocities and pressure.
Generally, the higher the temp, the higher the pressure and therefore velocity, but it has been known that very cool temps can also increase pressure.
Atmospheric conditions have little affect on internal ballistics, there is some, but almost non measurable. External ballistics is another story.
Barrel heat could also be a factor, so keep this in mind when developing a load.

What is more likely, is that the light on the day was different from the previous session, and this is what changed the reading on your chrony. This is very common.