Chrono Question

spdrman

I've been reloading for a little over 4 years now and have never shot thru a chrono until this week, in the past id just work up different loads until id find the most accurate load and never worried about how fast they shot, I purchased a Savage LRH 7mm a couple months ago and have found a couple loads that shoot great so I borrowed a friends chrono and was just going to use which ever load shot the fastest since they all group the same on paper, when I shot thru the chrono I had a variance of 300 fps between 9 shots of the same load, I measure out each load individually and know they are all the same, so I grabbed my AR15 and my bolt action 223 and shot them thru the chrono and only had a variance of 12fps between the 2 guns and I use the same process to load for all my guns, any ideas why my 7mm is so inconsistent

how close to the chronograph were you shooting? A 300 fps variance seems far too extreme to me to be consistant POI. If I had to guess I would say that the chrony was being affected by muzzle blast from the bigger gun to get that big of a difference. When shooting my bigger guns ( well big to me anyways) I have had the chrony out as far as 30 ft to get a proper reading on it. Hope this helps.

I had it about 2 feet in front of the barrel guess I had it to close ill have to try it out farther thanks

I had it about 2 feet in front of the barrel guess I had it to close ill have to try it out farther thanks

At least 10 feet with the 7mm and that's close. I have a permanent shooting bench and the mount for the chronograph is 16 feet from the bench.

There is a formula to compute the velocity loss from muzzle to chrono. At 16 feet with my velocitys I needed to add 9.6 fps

As said, definitely too close, that is even to close for the 223. I use 15 feet as my all around distance. Works for magnums on down and the add is consistent that way.