"c" after load? No 168g bullet in data? Load over max gr?

I am new to reloading (picked a great time with all the AVAILABLE components out there!) and find it intoxicating. However, I do have a few questions, perhaps a bit simplistic, but I'd like to ask the "gurus."
1. I know the small "c" after a grain amount eg; 65.0c, means compressed. What DOES that mean to me as a reloader.
2. I have noticed in many load data charts that they jump from 165/155 etc. directly to 180g. Now, I have been loading 168g HPBT in my 300WSM. Since they do not have the grain listed (168g), is it permissible to use a lower or higher grain bullet data, or just extrapolate between the choices?
3. Sometimes, I'll have a certain powder, but it is used for the 180g bullet, while another powder is used for the 168g (powder I do not have). Again, is it ok to use these numbers even though they apply to a larger bullet?
4. Finally, I have been told "official" load data sheets are conservative.....no lawyer speak now....can one exceed the max number, carefully and in small amounts, while paying attention to pressure issues?

Thank you for your assistance:)

1. If you take a case and rattle it next to your ear, you'll hear the powder shaking around. If you don't hear it shaking around, that's because it's "compressed" or packed tightly when the bullet is seated.
2. As far as the difference between 165gr and 168gr, assuming you're talking about 30 caliber bullets, they are close enough that you can use the same data between the two.
3. I'm not exactly sure what your question is, so I'm not going to comment.