Burn rate range

Twitch81

I've been reloading for 10 years or so so not new but have always wondered, when people say use something in the range of so and so powder, how big is that "range"? I always like to use components that i can find actual printed data for. I do have a friend with quickload and we are both still new to that but it is helpful. Looking at the latest burn rate chart, which I just found here yesterday, and thanks for that, what would be your "range" for powders in the H1000 area? I just happen to be working on a new load for a 7 Rem Mag and with the current climate of product availability and prices you guys know how it is. I'll be using some 162gr eld-x's coming out of ADG brass, with cci 250 primers. Would you say there's even a set range when using that phrase?

As a new reloader, stick with reliable reloading resources from major manufacturers and forget about the "range of burning rates". Trying to extrapolate loads based on a powder's burning rate position on a chart is likely to get you into trouble.

The reloading books are excellent - just start low and work up as you look for signs of pressure. Avoid the temptation to get MORE velocity than you see in the manuals.

Good luck.

I have been reloading for a very long time (60yr). Over 24 years ago. I move or change my powder loads beyond what the reloading manuals call out for. I was or still do use belted mag cases for that. I went up at very, very slowly increasing powder charge. Findly found that in case at hold 70gr or so. You could move up at .5grs at a time. Starting out in the low end of the reloading manual call out on that weight or grain of bullet. There I load up one case per powder charge and increase by .5gr for each case. Set several loads and go to the range. I watch very carefully for pressure signs. I would stop before any creating was showing up. A ladder test of a type. Smaller cases I only move up at .25grs at a time