Building a 30-378

bobbyd30378

Hey Guys, im new to this forum and am seeking some advice. I am a big fan of the 30-378 as a long range hunting rifle, as so,.....im gonna build 1, but bare in mind this is my first build. Im leaning toward building it around the Surgeon XL action with a 28" to 30" Krieger fluted bbl @ a 1/10 twist, what would be the better contour? So far, the McMillan A5 stock is my choice with a Jewell trigger. What kind of advice can yall offer and what kind of muzzle break (obviously 1 that can be removed for hunting) would be best? Also, Ive really got my heart set on a clip fed rifle, what are my options? Any and all advice will be very much appreciated, thanx guys!
progress.gif

Your plan sounds great but I would seriously consider the 338-378 if you are going to go this far with it. I have owned both and settled on the 338-378 it just simply out performs the 30-378 and your barrel life is much better. I like all the components you listed just make sure if you go with a mag system that you would be able too seat the bullets out where you want them with mag length restrictions.

Surgeon makes some awesome stuff no doubt but keep in mind the XL is a huge action and I think it weighs nearly 4lbs. You don't necessarily need an action that big for a 30-378 or 338/378 unless you just really want a Surgeon XL. Certainly nothing wrong with them it's just that they are really BIG.