Brux or Bartlein barrel?

cb4128

Im going to re-barrel a rifle in 264 win mag, and was wondering if there's any preference for a Bartlein vs Brux barrel? Going with a 3B/#5 respectively and a 1/8 twist for 140gr bullets.

Have several Bartlein but never tried a Brux. Any thoughts are much appreciated!

Im going to re-barrel a rifle in 264 win mag, and was wondering if there's any preference for a Bartlein vs Brux barrel? Going with a 3B/#5 respectively and a 1/8 twist for 140gr bullets.

Have several Bartlein but never tried a Brux. Any thoughts are much appreciated!

I've had three Bartlein and one Brux. My Brux shot better than any of my Bartlein and my Criterions have shot better than either of them.

John

I have no experience with Brux but I've got a couple Bartlein barrels and they're shooters. With the reputation of both just flip a coin as stated above.

I agree with going with either one. I don't have any Bartlein but do have some Brux. All Brux barrels have shot very good. I'd go with whichever one is in stock so you don't have any wait time.

I have a Bartlein on my 7mm built by nate at SSG and its a shooter. no experience with Brux but as others said I'm sure they are great as well.

I have heard praises for all barrel manufacturers, Brux, Bartlein, Krieger, Lija, etc. I would want to know, from the many Smith's on this forum, which barrel manufacturers have the straightest barrels or are they all the same and just pick a brand and go with it? I have only one custom barrel and it is a Brux, that is what the Smith uses on majority of his builds and it shoots great, not sure I would be able to tell the difference between any of them if we are getting .5MOA on custom builds.

If ordering a standard contour, I would prefer the Brux. It will have a 1.250" diameter chamber end. The Bartlein will have a 1.200" diameter.