Bought wrong scope by accident!!

Southernboy2563

I recently purchased a viper vortex pst 6-24x50 from basspro. I ordered it online with a promo that guaranteed it hear before Christmas which was what I was after. In my haste I accidentally ordered a mrad instead of moa scope. I am not familiar with the mrad system at all as I am still new to this sport. My question is if I get Kenton industries or a similar company to build me a custom turret can they put the increments back in moa or is that not possible? I'm not sure if the internal adjustments on the scope as far as clicks goes is the same for moa and the mrad models. I assume that it's not but haven't found the correct answer yet. I'm sure I can exchange it after the holidays but if I can either change the turret cap like suggested or just learn the mrad system I rather do that. Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Both the thread pitch and the number of clicks per rev are generally different between the two.

If you train yourself to use mil/mil, then range estimating and correcting missed shots will be easier in the long run. That's because the math is so easy to do in your head. One mrad always represents a distance equal to the range divided by 1,000. One mrad at 100 m range is 100 mm, or 10 cm, or 4". That math is easy for me.

It helps a lot if you can think in terms of meters and centimeters instead of yards and inches. Converting fractions of a yard to inches is more complicated for my brain.

Opinions vary widely in this issue. If you're not comfortable with a metric system and can return the scope, then that is the easy route.

Thanks for breaking down and making it simpler sounding for me. I'm pretty good with math but doing fractions in my head aren't my idea of fun. I have a good friend that has been in the long range sport for a long time and he is going to make me out a chart to put in my scope cap to use as a reference. Thanks guys again for the help!