Berger Bullets for Hunting - Yes or No?

Full Curl

I don't want to start a hard debate and I'm sure there are different opinions out there but I want to know what some of you much more experienced reloaders and marksmen think about Berger bullets for sheep hunting with a 7mm RM.

As compared to bullets like a Nosler AB, Partition, Hornady IB, ELD-X.

Range 0 - 400 yards.

I'm brand new to Berger bullets and have been just recently starting to work on loads with the 168gr Hunting VLDs. I'm getting very good results but have no idea how they perform on animals like a mountain sheep, especially if it's a less than perfect shot...?

I'll have a lot invested into the hunt and just want to make sure I take the right bullets. Thanks for the responses!

I'm loading those same bullets in my 280 Ack. This rifle has a new barrel, and Bergers are new to me as well. This year I'm going to use that combo on cow elk. So, we shall see I guess :D

I have used both 140 and 168 vld's in my 7mag on whitetail and yotes along with nosler and sierra and I prefer the berger's over any bullet I have used so a big yes on sheep or anything else with horns or antlers

168 VLD's in my 7mmRM @ 3,115 MV is like the hammer of thor on whitetails. I have never used a better hunting bullet, and I've used a lot of different brand & model bullets over the years...Including mono's.

Just load them 0.015" off the lands and you'll be fine.

Caliber: 7mm rem mag (.284)
Rifle: Rem 700 BDL 26" with some custom work

I have them at 0.2 off the lands right now and am getting very nice results. Once I find a charge I like I'll play with seating depth a little.

So you have that really special hunt that you have waited a long time to go on and you want to best make everything line up in your favor as best you can to take an animal home with you... do you use VLD's?

Thanks!