Bergara B-14 on the short list

31cigarette

Looking to get a new rifle for hunting and longer shots. Want a 300 win mag. have been a 700 guy my whole life with a few others in the in the safe. Not wanting to get a new 700 with all the resent issues. So have made a list what's your opinion.

Bergara b-14
Browning x bolt long range
Tikka t3
Savage 11 maybe another model haven't looked much into them other then the Hunter long range.

Seen my first Bergara rifle, they look really good but I have no experience with one. I honestly would recommend a rem 700 mil spec in the 300 win mag. They just shoot awesome. I know it's not on ur list but that particular model seems really good.

Looking to get a new rifle for hunting and longer shots. Want a 300 win mag. have been a 700 guy my whole life with a few others in the in the safe. Not wanting to get a new 700 with all the resent issues. So have made a list what's your opinion.

Bergara b-14
Tikka t3
Savage 11 maybe another model haven't looked much into them other then the Hunter long range.

Savages are always nice. Easily upgraded for cheap.

I really like the Bergara. Full disclosure haven't shot one. I saw one at a gunshop and handled it. Really nice stock, detachable box mag, relatively light. The action is similar to a rem 700 as far as styling and controls, but its really slick. Feels like a trued up Rem 700. On accurate shooter, guys have taken the plunge and say 1 MOA or less accuracy.

Looked at the 700r but waights to much to stalk hunt with. Have Sendero it's a lot to lug around. The gun will be used for big game hunting in the mountains. So weight ruggedness and ability to shoot all need to equal out as best I can.

Last edited:

Bergara b-14
Tikka t3
Take a look at the Remington Gen2 milspec in .300wm. If I didn't already have 3, .300wm's I'd have bought one as soon as I saw how well my Gen2 .260 is shooting. Phenomenal gun for the price.