Barrel and stock advice, please.

Inky Doc

Hello all,
I'm looking at my first build-out for a long (well, longer anyway) range weapon. I have a Savage model 10 in .243 that's about a decade old and I'm looking to upgrade the barrel and stock and see how it goes from there. I'm a non-working disabled vet thus money is always a concern. I use my .243 as an all-around utility weapon on deer, hogs and yotes. I know there are lighter weight bullets in the 50-60 grain range that are ultra-flat shooters but it's more important to me to be able to send 90-100 grain bullets at deer. I have heard good things about Shaw barrels and that they are quite affordable. I am not sure of what twist rate would be good for the heavier bullets. What twist rate should I be looking for?

What is the difference, if any, between a varmint and bull barrel?

Any other barrel makers with budget-minded models you'd recommend?

With all the same things in mind is there a stock/maker you'd recommend? I've looked at Choate and Stocky's and they have some I have my eye on. Any advice is appreciated.

I hope this is the right place to post such questions. Thank you for your time.

Are you all set up for the 243 and therefore want to stick to that caliber? If I were to build on a short action I would build a 6.5creedmoor, stellar factory ammo. Either way have you looked into apache gun works? Looks like a prefit runs 190, I'm not sure how much for a Shaw. I also recommend getting a new lug and nut from ptg, northland, or gun shack.

If you can deal w/ the weight of a choate they are probably the best bang for the buck. I have one and it works like a charm. Otherwise I'd keep your eyes on the classifieds for a HS take off to pop up, I'd imagine used it would be comparable in price to a new choate.