Bad primer?

Restoule

Hello everyone, first time posting here. I come to this forum all the time but couldn't find my answer this time so I decided to join! Reloading is awesome so far, I've been doing it for about two months. Almost made my money back from the initial investment. So here goes my question. I had a really funny sounding shot when I fired one of my reloaded rounds. Inspected the case before firing another round and the primer had a pin hole through the corner of it. Sadly it damaged my bolt. Was this pin hole caused by something I did, or just a faulty primer? I ended up firing the rest of my rounds and out of 250 rounds only one did this. Anyways, here's a few pictures.

Attachments

• 20160326_201655.jpg
    20160326_201655.jpg
    74.3 KB · Views: 83
  • 20160331_130106.jpg
    20160331_130106.jpg
    63.8 KB · Views: 72
  • 20160331_130258.jpg
    20160331_130258.jpg
    156.5 KB · Views: 80
I have had this happen 1 time. My caliber is notorious for blowing primer pockets out thus the primer wont seat tight like it should. I suspect that piece of brass had a loose primer pocket and that's why it leaked out the back. When you seat your primers pay special attention to how the primer feels when you seat it. If it feels like it goes in too easy then your pocket is probably compromised and you should discard that piece of brass.

I tried to get pictures of it in detail. But that's what I thought at first, I made a tool to shrink the pockets back to original size(benefits of being a machinist). It works awesome for the ones that seem loose. This case in particular was not loose as it doesn't have the ring cause by my tool. The primer actually had a hole in it. The gas didn't escape along the side of it. I have decapped some live primers, is there anyway I could of damaged the primer?