Another newbie!

bustayote

First off, great site! What a wealth of information and informed shooters.
I've been loading for about 3 years for 22-250, .204 ruger, .270 win, 25-05, and 30-06. To this point I've always followed the manuals to the letter, and used a new factory cartridge to set the die for seating bullets. I know there's a lot more to it than this, but I'm unsure about where to find good how-to's on things such as case trimming, sizing, etc. I'd like to know how seating depth should be determined by each load, rifle, etc. Before I can take the next step in LRH, I'd really like to know that I can build cartriges capable of getting the maximum performance out of my rifles. I've taken whitetail out to 360 yds using my handloads, and it's time to take the next step. I'm working with a gunsmith with the .204 (Savage, accutrigger, sporter barrel) at this time to bring my groups down as tight as possible. At this time I'm shooting around 1.75 moa (unacceptable /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif). Thanks in advance for responses, and I'm sure each answer will lead to follow up questions.

The 2006 Hodgdon Annual Manual has a good article on precision reloading in it, mostly brass prep.
It is available here http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?saleitemid=363634
and I am sure other places also.
When doing load development try to shoot in zero wind. You'll be surprised how much that shrinks groops even at 100 yards. You could also use wind flags but you need to learn to read them.

Thanks, it's on the way... good price, too. Anyone want to take a shot at explaining how seating depth/OAL for a given rifle/cartrige sould be determined, and how accuracy/velocity is affected by it?

get the nosler manual. It explains in depth about getting your over all length. Every rifle has its own attitude. Its kind off a hit and miss thing.