Advice on Rem 788

jimbo300

I have a Rem 788 that I need to re-barrel. This is a custom built rifle, it now has a 14 twist .243 barrel. It's chambered in 6mm Rem Imp and with 68 to 70 gr bullets it will shoot ragged one hole groups. This past year I started shooting F-class and to help buck the wind some what better I went to a Sierra 80 gr SBT. My load with the 80gr Sierra was 45grs IMR 4895 with a CCI BR-2 primer. This load is stout but no excessive pressure, vel is 3422.

I would like to buy another .243 barrel and chamber the gun in 6BR and shoot 105 gr Berger bullets, which will be much better suited for F-class than my current set-up. However, I have read about problems in the 788 specifically dealing with bolt compression which leads to case stretch and eventually excessive headspace. Also there has been problems with the bolt handles breaking off on the higher pressure .473 bolt face models.

What do you guys think? Will the 6BR work in a 788 or will I be wasting a new barrel, cost of gunsmithing and my time?

Thanks in advance

Jim

I have a Rem 788 that I need to re-barrel. This is a custom built rifle, it now has a 14 twist .243 barrel. It's chambered in 6mm Rem Imp and with 68 to 70 gr bullets it will shoot ragged one hole groups. This past year I started shooting F-class and to help buck the wind some what better I went to a Sierra 80 gr SBT. My load with the 80gr Sierra was 45grs IMR 4895 with a CCI BR-2 primer. This load is stout but no excessive pressure, vel is 3422.

I would like to buy another .243 barrel and chamber the gun in 6BR and shoot 105 gr Berger bullets, which will be much better suited for F-class than my current set-up. However, I have read about problems in the 788 specifically dealing with bolt compression which leads to case stretch and eventually excessive headspace. Also there has been problems with the bolt handles breaking off on the higher pressure .473 bolt face models.