Accurate enough?

mdmountainman

I'm new to reloading and have a buddy with some pretty high end reloading tools. I am considering getting my own equipment and am wondering the degree of precision needed. Specifically, is a chargemaster capable of .1 gr charge accuracy good enough or will I notice the difference that say a v4 autotrickler would give at say .01 accuracy.

I am no expert in long range accuracy. The farthest I've ever shot is 600y and my realistic hunting range is inside 400.

What kind of difference does that .01-.09 difference make?

I'm not really as concerned about the speed of the throws.

.1 is OK if the scale is consistent and quick return to 0 and maintains it. Ohaus and the like make very good laboratory scales (which I happen to use). I leave my scale on 24/7 which a high quality surge strip. Another great tool is a benchrest powder thrower. I use a Redding which has giving great service over the 20 years or so of service.

P.S. 4 kernels of H4350 (or so) is a 10th of a grain of powder. Divide the .01GN by 4=chasing your tail.

that kind of accuracy for powder charging isn't needed. I used to charge at 1/2 grain increments, but now one grain. Inside 400 yards ? Any enhancement is not needed inside 400 yards. Outside to 600, a quality rifle and bedded rifle for starters, and shooting skills, a good rest in the field, concentric ammo to a point. Wanna do it cheap? Frankford Arsensal coax press, Redding body die, and a Lee Collet neck die. Pick a good powder to prevent a small possible disaster of over doing buying too much of unsuitable powder. IE temperature stable powder, the right speed for the right cartridge and bullet weight, in other words, do your homework first.

Last edited:
H4350 is one powder I'll be using for 6.5cr. My understanding is that some of the benchrest throwers don't work well with the stick powders. I'll also use Alliant power pistol to load 9mm and 10mm for which I am less concerned about the precision.