7mm Rem Mag

What do the ballistics tables and practice with the 7mm Mag for your intended loads for 1000 yards tell you? Some do say go with a 300....If your practice, loads and tables say not ideal for 1000, I would say go with a capable 338. I have all three and would take the 338 for my first choice at 1000 on any of our NA big game animals.

MMERSS,
Keep in mind im asking because im new to LR and trying to decide on a caliber. What about smaller big game like deer within 200 or even 100? I guess i should have specified but i meant from closer ranges all the way out to 1000. Wont a .300 or .338 for that matter be a little much for a blacktail within 100 yards? Ive taken many deer within 50 yards and as any sportsman knows, sometimes they're close and sometimes they arent. I realize there are deffinatley more adequate calibers to be shooting out to 1000 than a 7mag but from short to long range, large to small game (not varmints), In your opinion 7 or .300

My 7mm Mag makes an excellent deer gun from 50 to 900 yards using either the 168 or 180 high BC hunting bullets. I would not use my 7 Mag for 800-1000 yard elk shots with a 338 in the inventory. If you are primarily looking for a gun to hunt deer, the 7 Mag is a viable choice and readily available. If you are looking for an elk or moose gun to hunt around the 1000 yard range a 300 or 338 should be considered in your decision. And whatever choice you make, take the time to practice at your intended ranges under field conditions.