7mm-.375Ruger

wkt60

Looking for info on possibly doing a 7mm-.375Ruger
Anybody currently shooting this caliber or working up loads
Thanks

Just starting on a reamer print, do you have a reamer/chambered barrel?
I was planning on pushing the shoulder back enough to give at least a .280 long neck, thinking a .318 no-turn neck.
And here I thought I was breaking new ground :D

James

James,
I read on a site somewhere( trying to find it now) that Pacific Tool & Gauge has a reamer already for this caliber.
I'll call on Monday,maybe get a print.
I'm a newbie & somebody on another board suggested this.....
I've purchased some once fired brass & am looking to build some dummy loads.
OAL is important to me as I want it to feed from my magazine.( Savage 300RUM action)
Have you given thoughts to bullets,etc?
Any thoughts or help appreciated
Thanks,Kent

Kent,
Yes I have given this a fair amount of thought.
If you leave the shoulder where it is you will end up with a case around 2.572" long and a neck of around .25" long. I have considered shorting the case length to 2.500" (the same as the 7mm RM) on the other hand leaving it at say 2.570 would insure complete cleanup when rechambering a a 7mm RM barrel to the 7x375 without setting it back any. Either way you would be looking at AOL lengths very nearly the same as the 7mm RM. The 375 Ruger handles pressure well so you should be able to duplicate 7mm RUM performance with a standard length long action. One thing I am sure of is that I like 30º shoulders and I will retain that.

On a side note I recently got the reamers for a 30 cal version based on the 375 Ruger that I am going to use on my new 1000yd heavy gun. I pushed the shoulder back significantly more on it than I intend to do on the 7mm version though.

James

Last edited:
how does the 375Ruger case compare capacity wise to say an STW/300wby case? roughly the same?

Hey Kent, haven't talked for awhile.;)