6mm bullets for hunting

DustThroughaFan

What's everybody's favorite 6mm hunting bullet? Or should I say, favorite 6mm bullet that they hunt with ?
I don't care if they're "hunting" bullets or match bullets, how do they kill, that's what interest me.

So what's everybody shooting, what are you shooting with it, and what are you shooting it out of ? And how have the results been on game ?

I'm just getting into the 6mm flavor myself. I've got a 700vls in 243win, factory tube that was AI'd and I recently put it back together and started shooting it. I've had the gun probably 12 years and never really messed with it. It was in pieces until just a few months ago.

Fireforming 85gr bthp Sierra gamekings @3300ish it's shooting ½" and it's pretty fun. I've shot out one 22-250 but this is my first 243.

I'm also giving some serious consideration to building a 6arc.
20230203_155252.jpg

I recently loaded up a ton of ammo for my told savage 99 .243, when the kids ar older and if they're interested that's what their first centerfire will be.

The main load is the long discontinued 75 grain Barnes x bullet (not tsx, no grooves). I've treated them with hex boron nitride and it really does mitigate fouling issues and improves es numbers.

While a snowbank isn't really a proxy for anything terminal ballistic wise, I must say look at this gnarly little flower. Furthest to the right is this bullet pulled out of a snowbank haha.

When I came back from shooting and told my wife I got her flowers before showing her some expanded Barnes she was not amused….

Attachments

• 5206FF2B-4AA9-4253-A871-C673955E92EF.jpeg
    5206FF2B-4AA9-4253-A871-C673955E92EF.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 58
Also screw the arc build a br. 😂
It'll be a gas gun build. Otherwise, I'd probably do a bra. Or maybe a dasher.