6.5x47 Lapua

William W.

I bought a rifle in this caliber at the recommendation of Surgeon when it was in Oklahoma with an AI stock over a decade ago for a non-308 with decent barrel life. With 130 Sierras (before Berger prominence it is almost a one-holer at 100-yards. Finally years later, getting a trim die and a trimmer for my press, I started shooting it - after the rush to 6.5 Creedmoor; I bought a decent one to use the brass left at the range by "6.5 Creed Yuppies". With that caliber's popularity, getting a trim die was easy.

I have several 308's which my gunsmith says very few are being requested now.

It seems that 6.5L never got the hype of 6.5C.

Finally getting to the point, I got a deal on a Defiance short action with a "308 size" bolt head, and am thinking about another 6.5x47 Lapua in a McMillan or Manners stock like I have on other rifles. I have lots of brass so that is not an issue; and a fair amout of 6.5mm bullets. Does anyone want to talk me into getting a great 6.5 Creedmoor instead?

I have several 308's which my gunsmith says very few are being requested now.

The only thing the creed has for me as I'm a new owner of the lapua and it's stupid east to shoot and load for, but the creeds factory ammo is far cheaper. Now that being said I absolutely love the 6.5x47. It's going to be my steel and comp gun. The one I bought had 2k rounds on it I threw a load with varget in it and away I went. Shoots under 3/4 minute. Soft to shoot makes me smile Every time we go. The wife also shoots it running prs drills while she waits for her 6 gt to be done.

I was going to take a 308 and rebarrel to a 6.5 CM, but my GS talked me into the 6.5X47 saying it was more inherently accurate. So I did and he was correct.

With Berger 130, 140 or HH 110, this rifle consistently shoots in the .2 or .3s. I don't think I have ever shot a group even with a flinch over a half inch. And, Lapua brass can be easily found.