6.5 PRC reloading issue (not clickers)

rharfo

I have a few questions for those reloading the 6.5 PRC. I am not getting clickers and have read all of the recent posts (Thanks Alex Wheeler).

I am reloading for two different rifles. A HS Precision and a friends Christensen Arms. I am going to stick to my HS for the time being.
My issue: My chamber wants the brass resized to 1.663 as measured with my Hornady Headspace comparator. I have two sets of dies purchasing the Redding set after I thought I had a die issue with the Hornady. I am finding that I have to cam over on the shell holder to get the brass to 1.663. This is causing neck dents in the brass.
Brass does not need trimmed as it measures under 2.030. What the heck am I doing wrong? I have cleaned the die to ensure nothing inside is causing the dent. I have been reloading for 25 years and never had a problem like this. My buddies rifle wants the brass set back to 1.558 +/-. Geez. Help!

My load for the HS is right out of Hornady's book and shows no pressure and shoots great. 57.4 H1000, 147 ELDM 2.955 OAL.

One note, I would trim the cases back to under 2.020. I've been trimming mine to 2.015-2.017 and have not had issues. Hornady suggests 2.015. When you say neck dent do you mean on the case mouth, like its bottoming out in the die or do you see dents in the shoulder?

what size comparator are you using? the .420?
Never had neck dents or seen neck dents....... many shoulder dents though full length sizing 6.5 PRC Hornady brass, if i am not careful. The slightest amount of lube from my fingers gets transferred onto the shoulder while picking up the brass by the neck off the lube pad and putting the case into the shell holder on the press. using mostly Gunwerks brass now, the problem pops much less often; with both Gunwerks and Bertram brass. I think the Hornady shoulders are thinner or softer or both. They blow out back to normal after firing.