6.5 Creedmoor Factory Rounds Preferences

silverhair

Lets start with the fact that I am not a reloader. I don't intend to become a reloader. I have never hunted before. I'm also a relative beginner in any shooting sports.

Now that we have that out of the way, I am looking for a couple of different kinds of 6.5CM factory ammo.

I'm asking the question knowing that it might be like asking Chevy vs. Ford vs. [your favorite here]. But I would like experienced opinions since I know next to nothing about ammo except what I can find on youtube and internet articles. And we know that JUST EVERYTHING ON THE INTERNET IS ALWAYS THE TRUTH. ;-)

The first is a decent quality consistent range ammo as I begin to take up long range shooting. I'm not there yet, but I seem to be doing OK, exceeding my expectations. Currently out to 200 yards with groups in less than 1 1/2" shooting Hornady American Gunner 140gr. Of course, I want to go out as far as I can without being ammo-limited. Locally, I can get out to 300 yards. I will get to at least two facilities with a 1000+ yard range late summer. (Yes, I will be taking training.)

I also want a good hunting round or two or more depending on conditions and game. Something that with good shot placement can take elk or antelope at 350 yds. I want to give that a try once I get good long range skills. I expect to be in Utah and maybe Wyoming in September / October. Maybe Colorado as well. I will have an experienced hunter with me and we may decide on a guided trip. Might try a Missouri or Texas pig shoot sometime as well.

Platorrm is a Howa 1500 22" #2 contour in 6.5 CM on an Archangel stock with a Vortex Diamondback Tactical 6-24 x 50 FFP scope, Harris SLM bipod. I am the original owner and have carefully broken in the rifle using Howa's instructions. Now have about 120 rounds through it.

Or maybe this thread belongs in the "Getting Started" topic?

Thanks in advance for the support!