400 Yard Range Report

Elite Muzzleloader

Finally was able to take my McRem out today after I had sent it off to Panhandle. Was able to check zero and make a couple adjustments here is what I ended up with.

McRem 45 Nikon Prostaff 5 3.5-14x40 XR

12/58 4759/4198
275 Parker BE
Win209 Primer
Wool Wad

Temp 56 Degrees

105 Yards

400 Yards (398 Lazered)

I shot several FTX also today but they were the ones I was trying to index and I didn't like what I saw. I don't believe running them threw the barrel drop and then indexing them will work. If I had a full form die I believe it would be different. Either way this is why I am not posting those results because I think they are flawed.

I am still learning my scope and adjustments for long range shooting. I have learned so far to make sure you have all the correct information in the Strelok App otherwise you will be off. I didn't get the correct barometer or altitude info in the app. So my adjustment was off. I was 8" to the left and 8" low. I have a lot more practicing to do and figuring the app out. However I am very happy with my group at 400 yards and hope it continues and wasn't luck. Also wasn't able to get velocities because I forgot my tripod for the chronograph another key factor in todays shooting.

I need to make a check sheet and also bring a notepad to take better notes.

What are some of the procedures one does when working up a load and taking notes?

Thanks

RR

Elite Muzzleloader

That is a good shooting rifle you have there. It is worth keeping good notes on that load.