400 Yard Range Report

Discussion in 'Muzzleloader Hunting' started by Elite Muzzleloader, Mar 15, 2014.

1. Elite Muzzleloader

Elite Muzzleloader Well-Known Member

Finally was able to take my McRem out today after I had sent it off to Panhandle. Was able to check zero and make a couple adjustments here is what I ended up with.

McRem 45 Nikon Prostaff 5 3.5-14x40 XR

12/58 4759/4198
    275 Parker BE
    Win209 Primer
    Wool Wad

Temp 56 Degrees

105 Yards

[​IMG]

400 Yards (398 Lazered)

[​IMG]

I shot several FTX also today but they were the ones I was trying to index and I didn't like what I saw. I don't believe running them threw the barrel drop and then indexing them will work. If I had a full form die I believe it would be different. Either way this is why I am not posting those results because I think they are flawed.

I am still learning my scope and adjustments for long range shooting. I have learned so far to make sure you have all the correct information in the Strelok App otherwise you will be off. I didn't get the correct barometer or altitude info in the app. So my adjustment was off. I was 8" to the left and 8" low. I have a lot more practicing to do and figuring the app out. However I am very happy with my group at 400 yards and hope it continues and wasn't luck. Also wasn't able to get velocities because I forgot my tripod for the chronograph another key factor in todays shooting.

I need to make a check sheet and also bring a notepad to take better notes.

What are some of the procedures one does when working up a load and taking notes?

Thanks

RR

2. etisll40

etisll40 Well-Known Member

That's an impressive group, looks like the bullets didn't wobble at all. How fast did they leave the muzzle?

3. Elite Muzzleloader

I forgot my tripod for the chrono so I'm not sure but figuring 2800fps

4. ENCORE

ENCORE Well-Known Member

Great 400 yd group :)

5. Engineering101

Engineering101 Well-Known Member

Elite Muzzleloader