308 Federal Brass

JonM

I have seen several remarks to the effect that Federal brass is inferior to Winchester or Remington. It also seems that the Federal Gold Metal Match seems to set the bar for factry ammo. How is it that they make top notch ammo if their brass is inferior? Or is their brass inferior just because it won't reload as many times. I have reloaded 3 batches of ammo with the FGMM brass and haven't seen anything negative yet. (Although I'm an admitted newbie and may be missing something)

Also, I have some Winchester brass that has a heavy 6 sided crimp. Is this okay to reuse. (Winchester white box)

Thanks,
Jon

Never had a problem with Fed brass in .308 or any other cal. It's funny that some of my rifles will group tighter than other manufactures brass. Rem brass groups better in my .300 Rum than Fed Prem. My Eagle Arms AR likes IMI brass better than Lapua. Go figure.
As far as your Win brass, it depends how bad the neck is tore up after firing. Resize it and check it out. Probably be ok.
db

The FC cases are heavy, and thick... and softer than brass from other makers. You'll see pressure signs sooner, even with reduced loads.

What ends up happening is the neck tension begins to vary too much from one case to the next with the FC cases. You'll seat one bullet, and it's snug... the next bullet almost falls in, even though both cases were sized the exact same way.

I haven't examined any of the FGMM ammo lately, but they may (MAY) be using a slight crimp on the case necks to even out neck tension to some degree, plus when the brass hasn't yet been fired, neck tension is going to be more uniform--most likely.

For the .308, the Winchester brass really works well. Lapua is of course better, and IMI (if you can find it) is every bit as good as Lapua. I don't like Norma cases, for the same reason I don't like the FC cases... heavy, smaller volume, not as tough.