300 rum 180 tsx bullet

duner

Hello
I am new to reloading and i have some questions.
as i stated in the subject line i have a 300 rum that i am loading 180 g tsx bullets.

i had already shot factory loads with this gun and dialed it in at 2 in above bull at 100 yards.

I used retumbo powder to build up my load. the powder said in the 94 to 100.5 rage barnes said 84 to 93. so to play it save i started at 85 and worked up . all the loads grouped well but their velocities were lower. i could tell because they were all lower on the target. so i worked up to 95 and i was still 1.5 inches below my stock loads with the same bullet. the bang was quieter the kick was less and no signs of presure. so i kept working my way up. I ended up having the best grouping at 100 g of retumbo . the velocities were still slightly less than the factory ammo. but the grouping was good. it just bugs me to be over the newest recomendation from barnes. now i called barnes and talked to tye a little and he told me they use to go by the retumbo recomendations ..... so my question is does this load sound to high? oh yes one other thing this is a remington sendero and as far as seating depth barnes recomends .050 but i had to seat to the magazeen so mine are more like .125 off the lands.

thanks for any input

The bullet hitting below the bullseye with your load doesn't neccesary mean the velocity is lower than the factory loads. Do you have access to a chronograph? What type of factory ammo were you using? I can tell you that if you are shooting 100 grains of Retumbo with a 26 inch barrell you are probably approaching 3,300 FPS. If you don't have access to a chronograph do you know how to Mic the case head for expansion?

The stock ammo is fedral 300rumd barnes triple shock.

I just got off the phone with barnes
the person i talked with had built up the same loads as i did with the same powder and remington barrel
what he said was he had gotten the same results that i did.