30 baur magnum

Improvement how? I guess there may be a 3% + or - velocity gain. When I was running the Weatherby in IBS 1k....back when I was a rookie... I REALLY enjoyed kicking *** on pretty much every 300"improved" case I came across the whole season. So, it's lost on me where all the improvement is.

Just sayin...in a hunting gun the 300 WBY should be the # 1 choice in that sized case as there is no Fire Forming needed. There is a whole lot of time/effort/powder being burnt for that case capable of a gain of 3%....not to mention the cost of the reamer rental or cost and custom dies. And, truth be told...if I could do it over again I would choose the lowly 300 Win Mag over the Wby...I think that it may be a tad more accurate and less "overkill" as far as being overbore. BUT, I was brought up on the WBY and had all of the stuff for it.

Also, with this much powder being burnt...and you just GOTTA have that extra 3 - 5%, simply move up to the rum or one of the 30's based off of the 338 Lapua case. WAY simpler then fire forming. And, this coming from a guy who LOVES fire forming.....just not in this big of a case. Now, the Dasher is a whole nuther story.

Again, just my .02,

Tod

The case design itself is an improvement... Low wall taper, 40º shoulder angle, long neck, makes for a very efficient case design. It doesn't grow and need trimming like a Venturi radius shoulder does. It also (once fire-formed) sets a more consistent headspace (on cased that don't headspace off the case). There are many improvements that P.O. Ackley discovered. He was just limited by his resources at the time. With modern powders, brass, and bullets his "improved" cartridges have been more than proven to be positive improvements.

That makes perfect sense. Same goes with the Edge.....simply size and shoot. The hardest part of this process is finding 7mmSTW/8mm Rem Mag or 300 Rum brass.